Skip Navigation

Experience St. Maarten

St. Maarten Overview
Fast facts
  • Learn about the island’s unique cultural blend of French and Dutch influences
  • Visit the famous Maho Beach to watch planes fly directly overhead as they land
  • Explore the cobblestone streets and colonial architecture of Philipsburg

The smallest island divided between two nations – France and the Netherlands – St. Maarten offers blend of cultures and landscapes to discover. You can easily explore the two sides of this small and picturesque island, from the colonial-style architecture in Philipsburg on the Dutch side of the island to Fort St. Louis in Marigot on the French side, which was built by the famous French king Louis XVI. Make sure to visit the world-famous Maho Beach, where you can watch planes fly directly overhead to land at the airport on the other side of the beach. The island’s coast offers ideal water sports conditions, with activities ranging from jet-skiing to wakeboarding and snorkelling – perfect for underwater explorers. There’s plenty to discover on land as well, whether you want to zipline from the top of the island’s highest point at Sentry Hill or embark on an ATV excursion through the island’s wilderness.

Read more
Travel tips

National language: French and Dutch

Currency: NAFL (Netherlands Antillian Guilder). We recommend travellers bring USD (United States Dollar) for their vacation.

Language notes: Hallo! Dutch is the official language of St. Maarten, which is part of The Netherlands. While the French half of the island, St Martin, belongs to France where French is the official language. You will also find English is widely spoken.

Voltage: 220V

Travel tips: Canadian devices use 120 V and will work with 110 V. Many resorts have 120 V plugs. For older devices, items using motors or heating (heated beauty tools, electric toothbrushes) and three-prong plugs we recommend bringing an adaptor with voltage conversion. The French side of the island uses 220 V and will also require an adaptor with voltage conversion.

What to pack: Don’t know what to bring? Don’t worry. Click Here for a full checklist to print and refer to when packing for your all-inclusive vacation in St. Maarten.

What to buy: Guavaberries, which grow wild on the island of St. Maarten, are aged with fine rum and cane sugar to make a fruity, spicy and woody liqueur of the same name. Aside from a bottle of guavaberry to make your own cocktails at home, you can also pick up a guavaberry-flavoured jam or cake as a memorable and yummy souvenir.

Getting around: Your local Sunwing Experiences representative will handle your airport transfers, providing you with round-trip transportation from the airport to your resort and back. To discover all the incredible things to do and see, Sunwing Experiences will take you on a range of exciting tours and excursions.

Read more

Sunwing makes every effort to ensure the accuracy of the information contained herein and cannot be held responsible for changes, errors or omissions. Please note that all pricing listed is subject to change with or without notice.

Back to
top

Saut de navigation

Expérience St. Maarten

St. Maarten Aperçu
Faits saillants
  • Découvrez la culture de l’île, un mélange unique d’influences françaises et néerlandaises
  • Visitez la célèbre plage Maho pour voir les avions vous survoler avant d’atterrir
  • Explorez les rues pavées et l’architecture coloniale de Philipsburg

Cette toute petite île est divisée entre deux pays : la France et les Pays-Bas. Elle offre donc à ses visiteurs un mélange unique de cultures et de paysages à découvrir. Vous pouvez facilement explorer les deux côtés de cette île pittoresque grâce à son architecture coloniale, telle que l’influence néerlandaise à Philipsburg ou l’influence française au fort Saint-Louis à Marigot, construit par le célèbre roi français Louis XVI. Assurez-vous de faire un tour à Maho Beach pour apercevoir les avions vous survoler lors de leur atterrissage à l’aéroport, de l’autre côté de l’île. La côte, parfaite pour les amateurs de sports nautiques grâce à ses conditions idéales, permet une panoplie d’activités, comme de la motomarine, de la planche nautique ou de la plongée avec tuba. Les activités sur terre ne sont pas de reste, que vous désirez faire de la tyrolienne à partir de Sentry Hill, le plus haut sommet de l’île, ou vivre une excursion en VTT à travers les régions sauvages de l’île.

Afficher plus
Conseils de voyage

Langue nationale: Français et néerlandais

Devise: NAFL (florin des Antilles néerlandaises). We recommend travellers bring USD (United States Dollar) for their vacation.

Notes sur la langue: Hallo! Le néerlandais est la langue officielle de la partie néerlandaise de l’île. La moitié française de l’île appartient à la France et la langue officielle y est le français. L’anglais est couramment parlé.

Tension électrique: 220V

Conseils de voyage: Les appareils canadiens utilisent une tension de 120 V et fonctionneront avec une tension de 110 V. De nombreux complexes offrent des prises de 120 V. Pour les appareils plus anciens, les articles utilisant des moteurs ou du chauffage (appareils de beauté chauffants, brosses à dents électriques) et les prises à trois broches, nous vous recommandons d’apporter un adaptateur avec conversion de tension. La partie française de l’île emploie une tension de 220 V et nécessite un adaptateur avec conversion de tension.

Quoi apporter: Vous ne savez pas quoi apporter? Pas de soucis. Cliquez ici pour obtenir une liste de vérification complète imprimable à consulter lors de la préparation de vos bagages pour vos vacances tout compris à Saint-Martin.

Quoi acheter: Le guavaberry, une baie qui pousse naturellement sur l’île de Saint-Martin, est vieilli avec du rhum fin et du sucre de canne pour produire une liqueur fruitée, épicée et boisée du même nom. En plus d’une bouteille de guavaberry pour préparer des cocktails à la maison, vous pouvez vous procurer de la confiture ou des gâteaux à saveur de guavaberry comme souvenir aussi mémorable que délicieux.

Se déplacer: Votre représentant local d'Expériences Sunwing gérera vos transferts et vous fournira un transport aller-retour entre l’aéroport et votre complexe hôtelier. Expériences Sunwing vous proposera une foule d’excursions excitantes parmi lesquelles choisir afin que vous puissiez découvrir tout ce qu’il y a à voir et à faire.

Afficher plus

Sunwing s’efforce d’assurer l’exactitude des renseignements qui sont fournis aux clients, y compris l’information dans le présent texte. Nous ne pouvons cependant pas être tenus responsables de changements, d’erreurs ou d’omissions. Veuillez prendre note que tous les prix affichés ci-dessus sont sujets à modifications sans préavis.

Haut de
page